Auditions and announcements for this season

Hello everyone,

I hope you all had a fun summer. I am really excited to get to work!

We have an amazing season. As always, we will be in the pit twice for ballet and opera: Mendelssohn’s Midsummer Night’s Dream (six shows Thanksgiving weekend), and Mozart’s La finta giardiniera (five shows in April). We also have a big Florestan Trio event in June, featuring the Beethoven Triple Concerto, as well as concerts on and off campus in December and February. I believe the February concert will include film music from Star Wars and Psycho. I would love to have all string players (performance majors) in the String Ensemble. I am still working on repertoire for string ensemble (email me your suggestions), but fall term we will cover some major repertoire as well as some Bollywood film music.

Ensemble auditions take place the first week of class, location TBD. Rehearsals begin the week of October 1.

Strings: please stop by my office Monday (Lincoln Hall 245B) to sign up for an audition time. I would like to hear major and minor scales, as well as whatever repertoire you are currently working on. There will also be some sight reading.

Winds: the audition sign up list will be posted on the LH 37 door. Please prepare major scales, chromatic scale, two short pieces or excerpts of your choice and sight reading.

Please feel free to email me (kselden@pdx.edu) or stop by my office anytime this week.

Ken

Leave a comment